10 min read

A Brush With Life - Issue #127 My Special Birthday Surprise For You

This is my way of saying thank you in a meaningful way for your ongoing support and patronage as I entertain my semi retirement from being a full-time artist. No worries, there are still going to be more new “Terrill Welch paintings” in your future!
A Brush With Life - Issue #127 My Special Birthday Surprise For You

Though there is other news, my special birthday surprise is the biggest news. I will be 65 years old in August and I want to celebrate with you! I love my birthday! It is one of my most favourite days of the year. I have been preparing for months to get new paintings completed and released ahead of this occasion. With recent new releases, there are just about 140 paintings of various sizes to choose between and I will keep painting to see if I can get at least a few more ready to consider before the time is up.

You might ask - “the time is up for what?”

Well, let me tell you!


SPECIAL 65TH BIRTHDAY SAVINGS ON ORIGINAL PAINTINGS

I can’t remember when was the last time I did a PUBLIC all-available-inventory special savings. These do not come along very often. It might have been five or seven years ago? A long time ago anyway. And now is the the time! So, here is my special 65th Birthday and rather rare offer…

This offer is now over. If you would like to learn about future offers, please sign up to our newsletter.

If you are already an art collector of my work then the usual “art collector savings” is also still available along with this special 65th birthday offer.

There are no holds and no commissions with this special birthday offer.

If you have been wanting to get your first “Terrill Welch painting” this is a great opportunity. If you are already an art collector of my paintings and have been considering adding another or maybe a large painting to your collection, then this opportunity is ideal for you. It might possibly get a little wild with interest in this offer so you will want to consider without delay at:

Art Collection from Terrill Welch
View the full collection of artwork from Terrill Welch

This is my way of saying thank you in a meaningful way for your ongoing support and patronage as I entertain my semi retirement from being a full-time artist. No worries, there are still going to be more new “Terrill Welch paintings” in your future! I just plan to possibly create them at a more refined pace and focus that will offer me more freedom from art business commitments.

This is it! Happy 65th Birthday to me and I hope you enjoy this special celebration!

WHAT HAS SOLD

This June has been a month for finding homes for paintings! We shared the first two of these that sold which included “Morning at Cotton Park” by Jennifer Peers and “The Nurse’s Place Clinton BC” by Terrill Welch in the latest issue of Terrill Welch by herself. Since then, four more Terrill Welch paintings have sold and they are:

A Bright Blustery Day at Reef Bay by Terrill Welch
Artist notes: The wind had picked up but the light was extra bright and clear. I gathered reference and took them back to the studio to capture the mood of t…
Reef Bay Afternoon by Terrill Welch
Artist notes: Recipe for tranquil seaside painting - Take a calm warm October afternoon, one linen board, one larger round paintbrush, a few oil pigments on…
A Secluded Haven by the Sea by Terrill Welch
Artist notes: Some places are meant to be visited repeatedly. Each time more is revealed to the visitors. I shall be back again with my easel to stand by thi…

And…

Pond in Japanese Memorial Garden by Terrill Welch
Artist notes: Spring greens are still bright in the garden as the birds sing in the trees. I start standing at the ponds edge with the canvas braced and boun…

Plus, this postcard size work also sold as part of the Twitter Art Exhibit fundraiser which was happening in Vancouver BC this year to support the Urban Native Youth Association. Special thanks to all the hard work of the International Twitter Art Exhibit 2023 and curator Kelly Kitson.


This is Twitter Art Exhibit’s 13th annual event and I have provided an original art postcard for many of these years. The charities are always amazing to support and it is just great fun for artist all over the world to gather around like this and make a difference. My deep appreciation to Norway artist and founder of this event David Sandum.

There are still many amazing original art postcards to choose from that can be purchased online at:

SHOP | TWITTER ART EXHIBIT
Twitter Art Exhibit utilizes social media and public engagement to generate income for charities and nonprofit organizations. In the past, #TwitterArtExhibit has generated funds for a library suffering from deep funding cuts to purchase much-needed children’s books, for an abused women’s…

Congratulations to all the art collectors who have acquired and given homes to seven of our paintings this month. All but two are Mayne Island landscape paintings with the additional paintings being from the interior of British Columbia and a still life painting.


NEW RELEASES of Terrill Welch Paintings

Two of the new releases are in the sold section above and include “A Secluded Haven by the Sea” and “Pond in Japanese Memorial Garden”. However we have more, starting with the Paris painting…

Artist notes: I have been up to The Basilica of Sacré Coeur for sunrise. It is mid June so sunrise is early. On my way back I stop just before I get to the top of Rue Drevet Stairs and crunch real low to get my reference image. As soon as I framed the view, I knew I was going to paint it. That was June 15, 2014. I have now painted it and it is June 14, 2023. Nine years later and I can still feel the pleasure of these champagne buildings catching the soft morning light.

More about this painting and purchase information is available at:

Morning in Paris by Terrill Welch
Artist notes: I have been up to The Basilica of Sacré Coeur for sunrise. It is mid June so sunrise is early. On my way back I stop just before I get to the t…

The other new releases were first shared in the resent issue of “Terrill Welch by herself” and I hesitate to add individual links to them here. However, there are three more new paintings available to discover. What fun!

NEW AND FINAL SHOW IN ISLAND TIME ART

With some sadness while remaining bountifully hopeful for the artists that have shown in the ISLAND TIME ART room, this is our last group show in this space.



It has been such a pleasure to show the work of these artists since the summer of 2020. If you would like to stay in touch with any or all of them directly, send me a note and I will be most happy to make that introduction.



A special thank you to artists Jennifer Peers, Jody Waldie, Glenda King and Maeva Lightheart! Also, thank you to Vania Williams with Dragonfly for her support at the checkout counter.



The ISLAND TIME ART room will close in late August as part of my semi retirement plans. Now, let’s browse this new and final show!

ISLAND TIME ART room
A private room from Terrill Welch



CURRENT SHOW IN THE TERRILL WELCH GALLERY POD

Our next Terrill Welch Gallery Pod “Summer” show is fluid and paintings will be added and removed every few days at the whim of the curator/artist. This fluid show is designed to invite you to come by and browse often. By the end of our designated show time, not one painting that was present at the beginning of the show on June 13, 2023 will be present at the end on August 29, 2023.

Terrill Welch Gallery Pod
A private room from Terrill Welch

At some point, near the end of this show or shortly after, there is going to be an interruption in the ability to view the gallery pod in person because of construction on our property. We are getting a new septic system put in and during its installation, it will not be possible to have the gallery pod open. I will update the viewing room link with specific information when the details become available. My apologies for any inconvenience. I will make every effort to bring paintings you wish to view to wherever you are on island during this time or it may be possible to do evening viewings in the gallery pod. I just won’t know what is going to work until the construction is under way. On line viewing, purchasing and shipping will continue uninterrupted.


REMINDER - the next “A Brush with Life” issue will be October 6, 2023

Our quarterly publication schedule for our free “A Brush with Life” begins with this issue. The next issue will be published on Friday October 6, 2023. The paid subscription to “Terrill Welch by herself” will continue to be published monthly on the 3rd Friday of each month and will as usual include all new releases and works-in-progress as well as other writings. If you haven’t already, you can purchase your paid subscription at the link to one of my latest favourite “Terrill Welch by herself” issues and following the prompts to subscribe and do let me know if you need any assistance:

Terrill Welch by herself - Issue #6 Savouring Neither Here nor There
A sort of freedom wells up in me and combines with an unlawfulness I reserve for pirates. I am a thief, steeling additional moments where none are suppose to exist.

As I mentioned in our previous issue, this new schedule is also part of my semi retirement plan and will support a less public life going forward. I have openly shared my work and process on social media since 2010. A lot about this method has changed over that length of time and created a vortex that sucks up hours of my time as well as yours. These are pleasant enough exchanges however, the advertising on most platforms has become relentless. In general, I am wanting to spend much less time online and what I do I would like to be in my favourite meaningful conversations. The “Terrill Welch by herself” paid subscription offers me the best format for this. Over time, I am hopeful that, through these issues, a community of comments will create the kind of conversation exchanges that I have elsewhere in a little less random browser way. If it doesn’t work, then as usual, we will try something else.

Do you need to purchase this paid subscription to stay in touch with me? No! You can still always write to me directly at tawelch@shaw.ca or follow or friend me on one of your favourite social media platforms. You can also simply bookmark my website or my online artwork archive gallery. I am not hard to find. If you do a browse search with my name, I am right there! The paid subscription to “Terrill Welch by herself” just ensures that at least once a month you can have preferred and organized access to my work and inside snippets about my life as a working artist. The intention of the subscription fee is to pay for the platform to provide the newsletters. It is not a revenue stream, at least not at this point. I trust that you will do whatever is right for you and I look forward to staying in touch in whatever way this is.


UNTIL NEXT TIME


Well, did I surprise you with my special 65th birthday savings? I hope so!

When we again connect through “A Brush with Life” we will be starting to prepare for Canadian Thanksgiving and filling the pantry ahead of our west coast winter storms. Our summer days will be fond memories and the golden light of fall will be amazing!



I look forward to sharing what is new with you then if not before in “Terrill Welch by herself” or an email exchange or even an in person Terrill Welch Gallery Pod visit. All the best as always and enjoy your summer! Oh, and if it is right for you, do take advantage of my special 65th birthday special savings!

Warm regards as always,

Terrill 👩‍🎨🎨❤️

Art Collection from Terrill Welch
View the full collection of artwork from Terrill Welch